Arial | PT Sans | Century
A- A A+


pic ban001

In the early stages of its existence, Selangor Mufti Department was one of the divisions in the Selangor Islamic Religious Department (JAIS). It was known as the Fatwa Division. At that time the office of the Mufti has not been established yet, but was known as Sheikul Islam.

The Sheikul Islam post in Selangor was held by Tengku Mahmud Zuhdi bin Tengku Abdul Rahman. He started service from 1935 until 1952. The Mufti post was created in 1953. Tuan Haji Yusuf bin Sahabuddin became the first Selangor Mufti. He served until 1968. In mid-1968, Dato' Hj. Ghazali bin Hj. Abdullah was appointed as the State Mufti until 1973.

After that Dato' Hj. Md Salleh bin Hassan Farid was appointed Mufti in 1974. He served for two years. Dato' Hj. Hassan bin Hj. Omar was appointed as the fourth Mufti from 1976 until 1985. Dato' Hj. Ishak bin Hj. Baharom was appointed Mufti of Selangor State Government to replace Dato' Hj. Hassan from July 1985 to November 1997. He served for 12 years. The sixth Mufti, Al-'Alim Al-'Arif Dato' Setia Hj. Mohd. Tamyes bin Abd. Wahid was appointed from 16 March 1998 until 19 May 2021. Dato' Dr. Haji Anhar Bin Haji Opir appointed as the seventh Mufti on 21 May 2021 and continues to serve today.

Prior to 1985, there were only two staff serving at the Mufti Department i.e. the Mufti himself and a driver. All administrative and financial arrangements were under the management of the Selangor Islamic Religious Department. The Deputy Mufti post was created in 1991. It was created to assist the Mufti in carrying out his tasks in Islamic Affairs in accordance with the current development. The first Deputy Mufti was Tuan Hj. Jamauddin bin Hj. Omar. He served until December 1997. Tuan Hj. Abdul Majid bin Omar is the second deputy Mufti. He was appointed on 2 January 1998 until 31 December 2015. Dato' Dr. Haji Anhar Bin Haji Opir was then appointed as the third deputy Mufti from 1 January 2016 until 20 May 2021. The fourth deputy Mufti is Prof. Madya Dr. Haji Miszairi Bin Sitiris, appointed on 1 July 2021 and serve until now.

Nevertheless in 1996, the Public Service Department (PSD) issued a Circular on the separation of the Fatwa Division from Islamic Departments of every state in Malaysia including Selangor. However, the separation process could not be done immediately because of lack of staff. Therefore, the Fatwa Division remained dependent on the Selangor Islamic Religious Department in terms of administration and finance.

In November 1996, the post of Islamic Affairs Officer began to be filled, followed by Administrative Assistant (Secretarial) on 2 May 1997 who was assisted by a number of contract employees. Beginning in late 1997, the post of Administrative Assistant (Clerical/Operations), Assistant Clerk (Typist), Assistant Administrative Officer, Dispatch, Islamic Affairs Assistant Officer and Islamic Affairs Assistant started to be fully filled by the Services Division of the Secretary of State Office.

The plan to manage the administrative and financial entirely by the Mufti Department has been done since mid-1998. Although physically the Mufti Department has been separated from the Selangor Islamic Religious Department it was still in close contact and cooperated with the Research Division of the Selangor Islamic Religious Department in dealing with matters related to deviant teachings.

On 22 February 1999 with the courtesy of the Secretary of State Office, the Mufti Department moved to a new office at 4th Floor, Podium Selatan, Bangunan S.S.A.A.S.. With that the Selangor Mufti Department was established which is now responsible for issuing fatwas and address other problems associated with the religion of Islam.